Header Ads Widget

Akwa Ibom Bans 51 Cults In Secondary Schools

The Governor of Akwa Ibom, Udom Emmanuel has placed a ban on all cultist group formed by secondary school students in the state.
File Photo
Akwa Ibom State Government has proscribed 51 cults in secondary schools in the state following cult-related violence in schools.

This is in addition to 32 other cult groups earlier outlawed by the state government in 2018.

The proscription order titled, ‘Cultism and other violent behaviour (prohibition) order,’ and signed by Governor Udom Emmanuel in Uyo on Monday, replaced ‘The Cultism and Other Violent Behaviour (Prohibition) Order of 2018,” and came into effect on the 16th of March, 2020.

Banned in schools by the order were the Luttox, Red Skins, St. Stephens, Dewell; Sept 11 Group, Secret Sons of Satan, King Cobra, Junior Vikings, Bats, Predators, Black Ladies, Black Cross, Scavengers, Skylolo; Sons of Nights, Blood Brotherhood, Junior Buccaneers, White Angels and Musket.

Also banned are Daughters of Queen Amina, Lion, Leo Lion, Neo Black Movement of Africa, Temple of Eden, Daughters of Jezebel, Amazon, Black Brazier, Barracudas,Black Beret, The Dragon, Red Devil,Blood Suckers, Scorpion, Black Eye, Eyie, Sons of Nights, White Angels, Yellow Ribbon and Python, among othes.

The law order read in part, “The activities of all cult, society or group mentioned inparagraph 1 and 2 of this Order are hereby prohibited and defaulters shall be prosecuted in accordance with the Cultism, Offensive Weapons and Violent Behaviour (Prohibition) Law, 2004, or any other enabling law in that regard.”

Post a Comment