Header Ads Widget

CAF Awards: Osimhen Missing, Moses Simon, Amoo Make List

Simon, who plies his trade in France with FC Nantes, was the only Nigerian player nominated in the Player of The Year (Men) category.

Only two Nigerians were shortlisted for the 2022 Confederation of African Football Awards.
Super Eagles midfielders, Moses Simon and Akinkunmi Amoo made the list in different categories for male footballers on Thursday.
Africa Cup of Nations winner Sadio Mane, and former Liverpool teammate, Mohammed Salah also are included in the list.
Simon, who plies his trade in France with FC Nantes, was the only Nigerian player nominated in the Player of The Year (Men) category.
However, Napoli's Victor Osimhen missed the cut.
Simon who was included in the list, was pivotal to Nantes 2021/22 season, where they finished ninth in the Ligue 1 and won the Coupe de France after beating Nice in the final.
Amoo, on the other hand, was nominated in the Young Player of the Year (Men) category alongside nine others.
The 20-year-old won the Danish Super Liga with FC Copenhagen in the 2021/22 season having come from Swedish side Hammarby, where he won the Svenska Cupen in 2020.
Amoo was part of the Nigerian U-17 squad which competed at the CAF U-17 AFCON and the FIFA U-17 World Cup both in 2019, and later promoted to the senior team.
Nigeria missed out of the nomination in the Men’s National Team of the Year category with Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, and Tunisia making the cut.
Some of the players who made the Men’s Player of the Year nominees list include, Riyad Mahrez, Bertrand Traore, Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli), Karl Toko Ekambi, Vincent Aboubacar, Franck Kessie, Sebastien Haller, Mohamed ElNeny, Mohamed Salah, Musa Barrow, Naby Keita, Yves Bissouma, Achraf Hakimi, Edouard Mendy, Kalidou Koulibaly, and Sadio Mane.
The awards ceremony will hold on July 21, 2022, in Morocco.
The CAF Awards 2022 will be held before the final of the Africa Women Cup of Nations in Morocco, scheduled to take place from July 2 to July 23.
See full List of Nominees 
Player of the Year (Men)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Aston Villa)
Blati Toure (Burkina Faso & Pyramids)
Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso & Bayer Leverkusen)
Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli)
Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)
Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)
Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros & Guingamp)
Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)
Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt & Al Ahly)
Mohamed ElNeny (Egypt & Arsenal)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Mohamed Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)
Musa Barrow (Gambia & Bologna)
Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
Hamari Traore (Mali & Rennes)
Yves Bissouma (Mali & Tottenham Hotspur)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)
Sofiane Boufal (Morocco & Angers)
Yahya Jabrane (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Sevilla)
Moses Simon (Nigeria & Nantes)
Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
Nampalys Mendy (Senegal & Leicester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)
Saliou Ciss (Senegal & Nancy)
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly) 
Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Riad Benayad (ES Setif)
Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)
Karim Konate (ASEC Mimomas)
Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)
Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)
Mohamed Shenawy (Al Ahly)
Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)
Percy Tau (Al Ahly)
Morlaye Sylla (Horoya)
Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)
Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)
Zouhair El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)
Mouhcine Moutouali (Raja Club Athletic)
Issoufou Dayo (RS Berkane)
Youssou El Fahli (RS Berkane)
Victorien Adebayor (Niger & Union Sportive Gendarmerie Nationale)
Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates)
Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)
Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Esperance Sportive de Tunis)
Young Player of the Year (Men)
Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)
Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
Jesus Owono (Equatorial Guinea & Alaves)
James Gomez (The Gambia & AC Horsens)
Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)
Ilaix Moriba Kourouma (Guinea & Valencia)
El Bilal Toure (Mali & Reims)
Akinkunmi Amoo (Nigeria & FC Copenhagen)
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)
Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)
Coach of the Year (Men)
Kamou Malo (Burkina Faso)
Amir Abdou (Comoros)
Carlos Quieroz (Egypt)
Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)
Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)
Florent Ibenge (RS Berkane)
Vahid Halilhodzic (Morocco)
Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
Mandla Ncikazi (Orlando Pirates)
National Team of the Year (Men)
Burkina Faso
Equatorial Guinea
The Gambia
Club of the Year (Men)
ES Setif (Algeria)
Petro Atletico (Angola)
TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
Al Ahly (Egypt)
Ahli Tripoli (Libya)
Al Ittihad (Libya)
Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)
RS Berkane (Morocco)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

Post a Comment