Header Ads Widget

Soul Train Awards: SZA, Usher, and Victoria Monét Take Home Top Honors

This year’s Soul Train Awards was not one to disappoint and would make it the sixth consecutive year that a female solo artist has won album of the year.

SZA was the top winner at the 2023 Soul Train Awards.

Nigeria’s own Burna Boy was nominated for a few categories but didn’t win, even though it was nice to see Him trend amongst the best stars America had to offer.

This is the sixth consecutive year that a female solo artist has won album of the year at the Soul Train Awards. H.E.R.’s H.E.R. won in 2018, followed by Lizzo’s Cuz I Love You, Summer Walker’s Over It, Jazmine Sullivan’s Heaux Tales, Beyoncé’s Renaissance and now SOS.

This marks the second time SZA has won best R&B/soul female artist; she previously won in 2017.

SZA, who was Billboard’s woman of the year for 2023, is this year’s leading Grammy nominee with nine nods, including album of the year and best progressive R&B album for SOS (which logged 10 weeks atop the Billboard 200) and best R&B song for “Snooze” (which reached No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100).

Usher was runner-up at the Soul Train Awards with three awards, followed by Victoria Monét with two. Keke Palmer hosted the show, which was billed as “the soulful house party of the year.”

Usher won best R&B/soul male artist for the second time. He previously won in 2010 in a tie with Trey Songz. He also won the certified soul award and best collaboration for the hit “Good Good,” on which he teamed with Summer Walker and 21 Savage. That was the only award for Walker, who went into the night with nine nods (tied for the lead with SZA and Usher) and 21 Savage, who was the nominations runner-up with eight.

Kirk Franklin won the best gospel/inspirational award for the fifth consecutive year, and the sixth time overall, for “All Things.”

Burna Boy, Chris Brown, Janelle Monáe and October London, each of whom received four nominations, were shut out, though Monáe received the Spirit of Soul Award. The show tweaked the name of its Lady of Soul award, which it has presented annually since 2015, “to honor the diversity and inclusivity of this year’s recipient.” Monáe identifies as nonbinary.

T-Pain won the night’s other honorary award, the Legend Award.

Here’s the complete list of 2023 Soul Train Awards with winners marked:

Album of the year–WINNER: SOS(Spirit of Soul), SZA

Song of the year–WINNER: “Snooze,” SZA

Video of the year–WINNER: “On My Mama,” Victoria Monét

Best R&B/soul female artist–WINNER: SZA

Best R&B/soul male artist–WINNER: Usher

Best group–WINNER: Maverick City Music

Best collaboration–WINNER: “Good Good,” Usher, Summer Walker, 21 Savage

Best new artist–WINNER: Coco Jones

Certified soul award

WINNER: Usher,Snooze,” SZA,On My Mama,” Victoria Monét

Best gospel/inspirational award–WINNER: “All Things,” Kirk Franklin

The post Soul Train Awards: SZA, Usher, and Victoria Monét Take Home Top Honors appeared first on tooXclusive.

source https://tooxclusive.com/soul-train-awards-sza-usher-and-victoria-monet-take-home-top-honors/

Post a Comment